Githa Hariharan


The Indian Writers’ Forum is a public charitable trust to safeguard and celebrate Indian cultural diversity. It has two sites, the Indian Cultural Forum, and an e-journal of culture, Guftugu,


The Indian Cultural Forum

As committed readers and writers, we see ourselves as part of a rich and plural literary heritage. In our own times, our dream is to build on this heritage for a more just, egalitarian and humane society.

We aspire to perceive, understand and celebrate difference even while breaking down the barriers created by caste, class, religion, race and language.

But we are painfully aware of the ways in which our literary culture has been challenged in recent times. It is critical, at the present juncture, to resist the range of threats faced by our culture of free expression, exchange, dialogue and debate. It is crucial that we fight for ourselves as readers and writers, and for all the readers and writers in our country.

Whatever language and genre we write in, we insist on our right to use our imagination freely to write what we see as meaningful for our times; and to speak and debate without hindrance, both to each other and to our readers. This includes our right to interpret and reinterpret the past, and our common legacy of contesting narratives, whether in the form of myth, legend, lore or tale.

The Indian Writers’ Forum Trust has been set up to allow a range of fora – the Indian Cultural Forum site, public meetings, seminars, facebook, and an e-journal of culture called Guftugu to discuss issues of concern to writers, educators and cultural practitioners, and offer support to individuals in the cultural fraternity.

Support the Indian Cultural Forum and Guftugu by becoming a friend of the IWF.
Email us at today.

Board: Githa Hariharan, Romila Thapar, K. Satchidanandan, Indira Jaising, Shyam B. Menon, Anuradha Kapur.

Advisory Panel: Anand, A.R. Venkatachalapathy, Ganesh Devy, Kiran Nagarkar, Krishna Sobti, Lawrence Liang, Mahasweta Devi, M. Mukundan, Nabaneeta Dev Sen, Nayantara Sahgal, Paul Zacharia, Romi Khosla, Sanjna Kapoor, Susie Tharu, T.M. Krishna, Uday Prakash

Print this page | Top of page